• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Small rifle primers...how cold is "too cold"?

Drago6

Private
Supporter
Minuteman
Oct 17, 2017
I'm new to reloading, 80% done in sourcing equipment/supplies, the topic of the thread is the current fork in the road i've reached

When considering LRP vs SRP for primers in 6.5cm, most of the information I'm finding is essentially saying "LRP are better for cold climates and SRP are better for mild conditions & accuracy"

I live in New England, and am planning on moving even further north (NH), so cold/wet weather is absolutely going to be present. I havent been able to find much definitive information on where the cut off is for "too cold for using SRP"

The primary reason I'm considering the SRP is because if i use CCI 450's, that would mean I would be using the same primer for both 6.5cm and 6.5grendel (the only 2 calibers i really plan on reloading), with the nightmare of sourcing primers for the foreseeable future keeping things as simple as possible is of some importance.

>tldr, can i get away with CCI 450's in cold (sub freezing) weather, or should i suck it up and go LRP?

I've no answer for your too cold question. But from a logistics standpoint I would say LRP. Being as they are slightly more plentiful. At least in my AO I have actually seen LRP for sale. SRP is non existent.

I’ve been using SRP in my 260 but recently acquired some LRP brass so I have the option of using either size primer. I want to be able to use whatever size primer I happen to be able to get ahold of.

I've had hangfires with the srp brass and ball powder. Tried the same powder with LRP brass and no issues. [ 6.5 Creedmoor ]

.223 never had a problem.