• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

So I build a Porsche.............

Stache

Forklift certified
Supporter
Minuteman
Dec 18, 2020
Wisconsin
I work for a not to be named tool company in Milwaukee, WI. I was recently tasked with making a replica of a Porshe 911 GT3 as a going away present for an exec at work. I am not an artist, shit I can barely write my own name legibly, so how the hell was I going to make this?
iris.jpg

There's a catch of course. I was to use material and components that we use in the manufacturing of our accessories, and finished products to do it.
That would be the band we use to make hole saws, sawzall blades, and what not. I started with big pictures that I scaled to make a rough mock up out of modeling clay. Didn't take a picture of course. These are the tools I used:
IMG_2502 (1).JPG

Note: I had to buy a new anvil in the middle of this because I beat a hole in the cheap Harbor Freight one we use for light shit in the tool room.
IMG_2503 (1).JPG

Worked out a frame of some kind with some hole saws and bar stock. Fresh band was used to shape wheel wells and 5/16" rod was used to for the roof frame.
ACLL8972.JPG

Sawsall band made up the bumpers along with porta band blade and OMT blades that I cut and welded as the skirting.
From there I spent the next 14 days pounding the ever living shit out of cold d6a shaping the farings, fenders, doors, hood, on and on and so forth....
This was some orn'ry metal. The second you gave it heat it durned hard af and there was no more shaping it. It just cracked and split as soon as you hit it. Another neat thing is that you could shrink it but not stretch it. Any where I stretched it, it tore and split.
But anyway, here's the finished deal.
IMG_2471.JPG

IMG_2487.JPG