• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes so i now know how to range using reticle - next?

M14Msgt

Private
Minuteman
Jan 23, 2009
Peoples Republik of CA
Ok, so I now know how to range a target using the military reticle. Now what? My scope is a IOR 2.5-10x42. How do I figure how many cliks to adjust using the two knobs? Yes, I am a newbie.

Re: so i now know how to range using reticle - next?

Do you have the scope mounted on a rifle and zeroed at some relatively short range, say 100 yards or meters?

If not, that's the next step.

If you have that done, then you'll want to start shooting at progressively longer distances, observing how much you have to adjust the scope to achieve point of impact at point of aim at those distances.

You might want to take a look at this link:

http://demigodllc.com/articles/practical-long-range-rifle-shooting-optics/

Zero at 100 yards.

Shoot a group at 200 yards without moving the elevation knob. Measure the bullet drop, in inches, on the paper from point of aim to the center of the group. Divide by 2.094. The result is your actual bullet drop in MOA. Divide by 3.438 to convert the bullet drop to Mils.

Don't touch the elevation knob yet. Shoot a group at 300 yards using the same aiming point and measure again. Divide by 3.141. The result is your actual bullet drop in MOA at 300 with your 100 yard zero. Divide by 3.438 to covert to Mils.

Now you have your 200 and 300 yard dope, under the given conditions, with a 100 yard zero. Write it down. Now you can dial or hold for 200 and 300, your choice.