• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Software/Vista/etc

Chiller

Minuteman
  • Dec 18, 2008
    Sole resident of Mt. Crumpit.
    I have been going back and forth as to what software paackage to get, and what platform to run it on. I would like anybodys practical experience with softwarwe that will run on a Vista based machine and a pocket PC handheld. I wuld like the Trimble Nomad ($2000 is a bit much though). The other issue is I have been reading here and manufacturers websites and it seems that Vista is not widely supported yet.

help......

Re: Software/Vista/etc

I'm a computer tech by trade, and I still consider XP Pro to be the best OS for the masses.

My iTouch with BulletFlight works well for me.
    smile.gif
    The price is right.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Chiller</div><div class="ubbcode-body">very mixed emotions on the KAC product. Some say it is great, some think it is a toy. </div></div>

Where are these mixed emotions at? I'd like to read up on it.

I am the developer of BulletFlight. Here is what I believe BulletFlight does better:

1. The calculations are much more accurate. I ran a comparison test, and compared to JBM, an accurate numeral solver, BulletFlight had something like 50 times less percent error difference for each point averaged from 100-2000 yards every 25 yards for a 175 M118LR .308. This is a fundamental. If you don't have this, you have nothing.

2. It has a profile system so you can configure your rifle/scope and those settings live on.

3. The bullet database and BC input are in the proper military ICAO format. Ballistic is in the civilian Metro format.

4. It will calculate actual BCs. Demanding users need this.