• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Some guidance for a newbie?

JPT

Private
Minuteman
Nov 17, 2009
Madison, Wisconsin
I am new to rifle - though I have shot competitive pistol for a few years. I live about 20 minutes from a 1200 yard range that has NRA service rifle comps, F-class and F-TR, and other comps.

How do people usually get into this? Should I just shoot small bore matches for a year or two? Would it make sense to try shooting (and getting good at) service rifle BEFORE trying out scoped matches? Or do people just go right into something like F-TR? Am I right that it makes sense to get some confidence with shorter range iron sights before dealing with optics?

I'll have to buy from scratch any equipment I need, that is, I am not starting with a 700PSS already in my safe, so that is not part of my equation.

BTW, I plan to attend an Appleseed in the spring, and this range also has a long-range clinic that I plan to attend in June.

Thanks for any constructive advice.

John

Re: Some guidance for a newbie?

My advice would be to watch a match or two of each disipline and determin what interests you. Then talk with guys that excell in that type of shooting, it is not unheard of to see a guy starting his first match on a loaner rifle.Not saying you will,but most competitors here have seen it happen.
That will give you a feel for what you will need to aquire without having to wade through a lot.
NRA Service equiptment differs from F & F/TR and none of it is Cheap

Kinda like learning to Swim, You can be told a hundered different strokes but you wont understand how any of it works until you get wet.