• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Some M1 Garand love!

johngfoster

Sergeant
Minuteman
Oct 2, 2007
NW MT
I've had a growing interest in this rifle platform over the years, and yesterday had the opportunity to get one. However, I'm a real noob when it comes to the M1 Garand, so honestly, I don't know if I got a good deal or not. It was a consignment rifle at my LGS. I don't have any gauges to check the throat and the muzzle and I haven't shot it yet. Looks to be mostly Springfield parts, except for the HRA plug. Any idea what grade this rifle would be (CMP grade)? What would it be worth? What kind of wood is the stock? Looking forward to shooting it!

Details:
Springfield Armory action
Action SN: 5,473,xxx (probably early 1955 manufacture date?)

Stock details:
lclv.jpg

nyhs.jpg

qf9.jpg

2kfh.jpg

Barrel: SA F6535448 12 54 A2220 (giant P)
p381.jpg

Hammer: SA 5546008
xa60.jpg

Safety: 11
n499.jpg

Trigger Group Housing (L side): 6528290 SA
al32.jpg

Lower part of receiver on R side (hidden inside the stock): F 6528291
c2yu.jpg

Op Rod: 6535382 SA
hfym.jpg

Last edited:
L side of rear sight (elevation dial)
fvaj.jpg

Rear sight from rear
qtd2.jpg

R side of rear sight (windage dial)
1mce.jpg

Gas plug: HRA
u04o.jpg

Chromed gas port
4sw.jpg

Looking in the chamber, the throat and rifling looked crisp and sharp (sorry for the crappy picture)
nszk.jpg

View down the bore
oprq.jpg

Piston end of the op rod
rrqk.jpg

And all put back together
rhds.jpg

m3sv.jpg

Everything looks really good especially the proof stamp on the stock. I would not hesitate to buy it.. 1200 would be my guess but who really knows when it comes to those rifles.

Looks like its in great condition. I am no expert on M1s but I have several.