• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes springfield scope

AR JUNKIE

Private
Minuteman
Feb 24, 2009
I have a AR10 and i looking at a springfield scope with the 308 yardadge drop. i read somewere that they were set for 168 grain bullet. I want to know if it will work with a 147 grain bullet the same? I am just getting into long range shooting and was wanting to do it right the first time. I done some searhes and havent came up with nothing. I think i put this in the right forum if not will someone move it for me Thanks......

Re: springfield scope

A quick search for you turned 3 pages up.... It will hopefully enlighten you as to why you shouldn't buy the scope.

That said, if the scope is set up for 168's, then no, it won't work with the 147's. The trajectory will be different

I had one on my 700. The BDC worked great out to 500m with 168's. Sold it, the scope is huge. 56mm obj was to big. Went with a Leupold MK IV and been happy ever after. I dont think that the springfield Scope is even made any more. Also it was not made in the USA.

The BDC is only for the weight specified and at the mil-spec velocity.
The scope is a Japan Optics scope on par with Nikon and branded with Springfield Armory. They had a great warranty and pretty good customer service. The scopes were hit or miss. I had one for 8 years and used it hard and it was a great scope. I heard of others who had problems with tracking and zero shifts. You don't need an objective lens bigger than 45mm or so. Look around and find a mil reticle scope that adjusts in 1/10mil (or 1cm /100meter) and go for that.