• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Standard deviation

AZ.noob

Sergeant
Minuteman
Apr 9, 2013
Phoenix, Arizona
308 Winchester; 168 & 190 grain SMKs over Varget through a Savage 10.
The rifle and loads are capable of solid half-minute accuracy when I do my part.

I hand-measure each charge individually, into weight-sorted Lapua cases. Seating depth doesn't seem to make measurable differences in the chrono numbers. Primers are CCI 200s.

My SDs for 10-shot strings are typically in the 20-30fps range. I'm relatively new to the precision discipline (about a year) so I haven't done much beyond 200 yards, yet. The goal is 1000 yards, as I have access to a high-power range. The desert is really big too:p

Question is, what can I do to tighten up the SD? Or, is 30fps 'acceptable'?

Last edited:
It certainly ain't bad.

I am happy with those SD numbers when I can get them.

308 Winchester; 168 & 190 grain SMKs over Varget through a Savage 10.
The rifle and loads are capable of solid half-minute accuracy when I do my part.

I hand-measure each charge individually, into weight-sorted Lapua cases. Seating depth doesn't seem to make measurable differences in the chrono numbers. Primers are CCI 200s.

My SDs for 10-shot strings are typically in the 20-30fps range. I'm relatively new to the precision discipline (about a year) so I haven't done much beyond 200 yards, yet. The goal is 1000 yards, as I have access to a high-power range. The desert is really big too:p

Question is, what can I do to tighten up the SD? Or, is 30fps 'acceptable'?