• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Starting seating depth for 308

bluto77

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Sep 18, 2012
Houston, TX
I posted this on the reloading board, but not as many people view that as this board, and I'm trying to get these loaded tonight.

I loaded about 10 rounds last month for my 308, but they were 168's, and my rifle seems to really like 175's. The 10 rounds last month were my first 10 to ever load as I am new to reloading. I am about to load around 100 rounds with 175 SMK using Varget. Right now I'm trying to determine how far off the lands to start loading. The rifle is built on a Rem 700 action with a Kreiger 26" barrel 12 twist.

I measured the distance to the lands with the Hornady OAL device with the modified case. I did it 10 times, and took and average.

Avg Ogive Measurement: 2.267

How far back from the lands should I start?

Based on the many things I've read, I'm thinking to start 0.010 back, figure out what charge the rifle likes, then work my way closer to the lands. Thanks in advance for your replies. All responses are appreciated.

SMK's like to jump. What is mag length? Can you load .010 off and still have enough clearance in the mag? If not .020 shorter than mag length would be what I tried first.

I would start .020 off and see if you can get to a velocity that is satisfactory to you. Then start tweeking the powder charge and finally messing with seating depth..just my opinion.

0.010 works in the mag. I should clarify, my plan is to figure out which charge works the best, then I will work on the seating depth. What I'm trying to figure out right now is how far off the lands I should seat the bullet in order to do the OCW testing. I won't be changing the seating depth at all while doing this.