• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Steyr Scout 223

Murphy

Ironfrog Pistol Craft
Minuteman
Apr 10, 2017
Southern Missouri
I have not contributed here before but I have to say I’ve been shooting for some time. I’m retired, 3 times now a spend my days doing what I like to do. Shoot. I’ve been a competitive shooter for a solid 50 years. 19 and 6 Navy time. 10 years FLEO. And some other journeys but I wanna talk about this little Scout rifle. I began an experiment with Sierra 80 grain MK’s this past week and tried them in 4 different rifles. One of which was the Scout (Steyr).
As you know this rifle is 223 chambered and has a 1/9” twist. I’ve been shooting 69 grain Sierra MK’s for a couple years with this rifle and all was great. Many 1/2” groups and my 400 yard line range, 8” plates are easy. I removed the scout scope a year or so back and put a Nightforce NX8 1-8 with the Mil-XT reticle. Much smaller center dot. Today with the culmination of my 80 grain testing I shot 3 shots @ 400 into about 3 1/2” group. Of the 30 or so rounds I’ve shot thru this gun all were right spot on. 400 yards is 1.9 MILS up. 300 is about .9
So to answer questions about twist rate and bullet weight, yes 1/9” will stabilize them. I also shot 80 grainers in a CZ Lux 223, 1/9” twist with the same results. It’s a toss-up which is more accurate. The load with 80’s is;
25.0 Grains Vihta N540, CCI BR-4 primers. ADI brass. Seated to a COAL of 2.440”.
It’s mild velocity in the 19” scout was 2812 fps.
I’ve shot service rifle with this load but with 1/8” twist barrel and cleaned many targets on a calm day so I knew it was good. I shot the two bolt guns and two gas guns. All seemed to love.