• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Stiller TAC300 vs. Manners MCS w/ AI 300WM Mags

Lowe Left

Chief
Minuteman
Apr 3, 2009
Arizona
Got my new barreled action from Southern Precision Rifles (aka Bugholes): TAC 300 Brux 26" M24 chambered in 280 Ackley Improved. Griped it into a new Manners T2 with MCS, and mounted my Nighforce 5.5-22x50 with badger rings.
<span style="color: red">--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ay7rr4.jpg

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------</span>
This is my first try at a wildcat cartridge, so I did some research and got an assist from a few folks that have, "been there, done that", and I appreciate the help. I bought the HS tool to bend the lips of the AI 300WM mags, and bent them to match the spec for 30-06 (280 is the step-brother). When I try to run the bolt, the lips make contact with the bolt and it goes nowhere. Ok I started bending, unbending and after 4 hours, I've got the mags where they will hold the 280 Rem, but there is still some contact and the bolt/action runs slightly rough. If I attempt to open the lips up, the 280 rem cases fly out of the top of the mag. My thought is now, to take off the mag latch and and file it down so that the mags can sit a little lower... I appreciate any advice and thank you all in advance.

The rifle "feels" awesome and I'm really happy with the work from both SPR and Manners. Just gotta be able to feed this sling-shot some rocks.

Re: Stiller TAC300 vs. Manners MCS w/ AI 300WM Mags