• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Stupid reloading question- neck tension/brass life

ReaperMedic

Take souls, plug holes
Minuteman
Aug 26, 2013
Kansas City, Missouri
I'm fairly new to reloading. I have Hornady match brass in 308 that has been reloaded about 4 or 5 times. I will neck size, and the measurements will all be correct, but when a bullet is seated, every few cases will not actually hold the bullet. As in, I can easily push or pull the bullet in or out. Is this just the point where my brass is no longer useful, and would need to be annealed? Or am I doing something else wrong?

Any help would be appreciated.

Because of variance in neck thickness, hardness, and the resulting variable spring back.

You should turn the die in a little bit more until you feel a click when there is a case in the die and the ram is at top dead center (all the way up).

Ughh, Hornady brass... crème de la crème of rifle brass.

If you have 5 loads on them and they have never been annealed the liklihood of salvaging them now is slim, but not impossible. Other than what 918v suggested above, try a different brand when you can. I'm not bashing Hornady, it's just a well known fact that their brass is sub-par.

Reactions: ReaperMedic
Roger. I got a great deal on them, so I'm not sad if its time to pitch them after how many times Ive loaded them. Ive got another batch of Federal GMM brass ready to get started.

Reactions: AIAW
Excellent. The main reason I say that is because for someone starting out it can be a bit frustrating to have to deal with. A good learning experience, but frustrating. Granted, even "good" brass will still occasionally have it's issues - the same or different.