• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Subsonic .308 does and don’ts

Sivispacemparabellum022

Private
Minuteman
Jun 18, 2017
Ok guys, I’m not new to the reloading scene but I am new to subsonic. The atf finally decided to approve me after more then 12 months. I’d like to start reloading for my .308 savage. I don’t even know where to start. I can’t find anything in my books, I’ve research some online, seems most that I saw were using trail boss and 175gr and heavier. Is trail boss the best? Can you use you IMR’s or Vargets for subs?

You’re entering a potentially dangerous area and one that you must be very careful in. FIRST, when working on reduced loads for subsonic ammunition you need to be aware of an issue where you reduce a load too much or using the wrong powder and the pressure builds down the barrel instead of in the chamber and can cause catastrophic damage to you and the weapon! There are reduced loads listed on Speer's and other website. It has been my experience that heavier bullets like 200 or 220 grain are easier to load subsonic. Trail Boss will get you subsonic, others like the attached won't and don't try to get there as warned above........

Click Here for an example

Here's a link to the Snipers Hide Subsonic reloading thread

Last edited:
trail boss is the best. and do it without a can to start. i found myself in the 10-11gr range with 175s

just note that reducing a 'reduced load' is probably not a good idea

there is tons and tons of data on 308 trailboss loads available online and here in the reloading depot I'm sure