• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suggest a long action magnum chambering for me

valhalla ss

Private
Minuteman
Sep 5, 2007
I bought a new Rem 700 action (long action, magnum boltface) and I have been swinging back and forth between doing a 7mm RM or a 300 win mag. Are there any other good options I should look at? My goal is to have a hard hitting, accurate rifle out to at least 600 yards. I already have a 700P in 308 that shoots great even though I am a novice rifleman and want something that's a "step up" in energy delivery on target. The longest range I have access to is 600 yds currently. I would also like to hear reccomendations on barrel manufacturers, I have been leaning towards Krieger or Shilen just from what I have read.

Re: Suggest a long action magnum chambering for me

either of those chamberings will suite your needs and far beyond, both have an abundance of available factory ammo, and reloading components, so it all comes down to personal preference, as for barrel manufacturers, once again personal preference, i'd go Brux, but thats just me...

338edge
laugh.gif

7WSM! With the long action, you can sit the 180 Bergers or JLK's way the hell out there and really reach out and touch someone!

There is no reason to go 7RM when the WSM will do the same thing with less powder and no belt!

7RM. Lotta knowledge out there about this chambering, brass is more common, and 7mm bullets and good slower propellants are finally coming of age for the LR shooter.