• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suggestions for an 'Updated Classic' 7PRC build

MTMagpie

Private
Minuteman
Oct 1, 2023
Montana
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to long range/precision shooting - shot older hunting rifles my whole life. I'm looking at buying/building a 7PRC as my new setup, but am looking for something that fits the classic blued/walnut look with modern updates and performance - a bit of an oddity in most of the new setups I see. I'm primarily a western hunter (antelope out to 500yd), though I'd like something for fun range days out to 1k yds. Current setup is a Ruger M77 from 1972 in 280rem that shoots 0.75 MOA, but it's old and I just want something different. I haven't shot factory ammo in years, so I'll be reloading for whatever I end up with.

Anyways, I wanted to see if anyone here has any suggestions on where I should begin, individual components you suggest, etc.

I'm trying to keep the build/rifle to <$2500 without glass/accessories, and here are some of the things I'm looking for:
  • Rifle chambered in 7PRC.
  • Probably a 24in barrel. No brake, but threaded for possible suppressor in the future.
  • Action and barrel blued. I'd be okay with black cerakoted or similar - just want to keep it classy looking.
  • Stock or chassis of primarily walnut or at least attempts to look classic, though I'd like an adjustable cheek riser if possible.
  • (Not a real part of the build but...) Needs to end up shooting as precisely or better than my current setup.
  • If I could keep the rifle under 9.0lbs before glass, that'd be great.
This all came about after seeing the Sako 100 and loving the blend of classic aesthetics and modern functions. Unfortunately, that's out of my budget and not chambered in 7PRC...