• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suggestions on buying my first PRS rifle

Underaverage

Maximum Effort
Minuteman
Mar 14, 2020
Winchester, VA
Guys, I'm new to the PRS world. Don't even own a rifle yet and I got on this forum hoping to educate myself before I buy anything that I will later regret.

I'm looking for suggestions of what to buy for my first PRS rifle. Sadly, money is an issue for me so I can't be blowing a bunch of money out of the gate. I know it's expensive to get into the PRS world no matter how you slice it; I'm just hoping to cut cost where I'm able so I don't go bankrupt lol. A friend of mine suggested the Ruger Precision Rifle. Any other thoughts?

Reactions: Gberry
Depending on your budget, the Tikka CTR is a good choice. I'm also partial to Howa for a budget shooter. The Howa Bravo comes in a nice chassis and is a good deal for what you get. A 24" 6.5 or 6mm creedmoor Howa Bravo would be just fine for PRS.

For optics, the Burris XTR2 tracks good and is mechanically reliable. You can pick up a used one in the PX or eBay for around 700$ if you keep your eyes open.

RPR is a great choice. I had one, but recently sold it to get a Tikka T3x Tac A1. You can do a solid setup like the CTR and one of these Athlon scopes people talk about. I dont have personal experience with them. I've done SWFA, Bushnell, and Vortex on my rifles. They all effectively did or do what I need them to do.

I've seen a couple Bergara B14's in the wild and they looked nice and shot pretty well.