• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Rifle Scopes Sunshade vs No Sunshade

pineoak

Assistant Minion
Supporter
Minuteman
Feb 15, 2017
Cary, North Carolina
I've messed with using with and without. Can't tell the difference in terms of looking through the scopes.

I understand what they're for (I was a professional photographer for years), but on a riflescope they're just there to protect my front lens 99% of the time.

The weight is negligible.

Any thoughts on the matter?

My thoughts are that they are seldom needed, but when you need one you really need it. To the point that at certian angles of the sun you might not be able to take a shot without the shade.

For years I always had the sunshade on my scopes and never really thought about it. This past week I put a new scope on my AR and went to the range late Saturday afternoon. As the sun began to get lower in the sky is realized I hadn't bothered to put the sunshade on. The view thru the scope was pretty much complately washed out in white light. While its rare that I actually need the sunshade I will make sure they are installed on all my scopes going forward. Better to have it and not need it than to need it and not have it!

Reactions: Changed
Like you said. The fact that they can help protect the glass from incidents is enough for me to use them. First time shooting with a group in a field prone, I was laying next to a .300RUM with a brake. I remember the concussion more but I'd think there was dirt flying around. And at my home range you shoot directly west, so those late day sessions it's definitely helpful. I put them on when mounting the scope and leave it there.

Reactions: DustBun