• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing suppresing a 24" long barreled rifle

civilian75

Private
Minuteman
If you get bored by the long story, jump to "the real question is". Sorry if this has already been discussed, just could not find where.

I just joined the SH forum. I am new to LR shooting. I recently acquired a Tikka t3 308 varmint to get me started. I also thought it'd be nice to invest in a nice YHM Phantom 308 can.

My FFL friend recommended I do NOT purchase the quick disconnect type 'cause it is quieter than the QD model. I did not know what kind of problem I was getting into. In my mind, attaching and detaching a can was not a big deal. I have a 22lr can I swap from my Mosquito to My 10/22 w/o problems. But local experts insist I should have the can attached permanently to reduce risk of baffle strikes. So I never thought this would be such a big issue.

The smithy who threaded the t3 to 5/8x24 for a break recommended I cut it down to 20”. The t3 has a 24" barrel, and with a 8.5" can, well that is a unwieldy long beast. I do not want to cut down the barrel to 20" (I read the "how short" thread) and I do not want to permanently attach it. I am not into competitions but I’d like to eventually get into 800-1000 yd shooting. Plus, I want to be able to use this can with other firearms.

The real QUESTION is:
What you guys do to manage frequent attaching/detaching w/o risking it coming lose and hitting the baffles?

My guess I am actually looking at having two rifles, one long unsuppressed and one short & suppressed, but I have already poured to much $$ into this.

If I have to, I will return the non QD and have it replaced with QD type, although that would problably add 6mo to an already long wait and won't be as quiet.