• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors Suppressed 300WM

Rancid Coolaid

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
  • Aug 10, 2007
    Houston, TX.
    I've been shooting suppressed for many years, mostly 308 or 223-based rounds.

Today, I shot a 24-inch barrel 300WM with a can for the first time ever and holy hell, does it ever make a difference. Recoil diminished dramatically (it's a 9 pound gun with scope), concussion was dramatically reduced, and noise was very, very well diminished.

On my 308s and 260, the difference is noticeable; on the 300WM, the difference is startling.

I haven't run 300WM and the like suppressed before, but I will from now one!

Rifle is a modified 700 5R, can is thread-on YHM. (Decided on the YHM over the Thunderbeast as the YHM has more volume, and the 300WM - 180-gr SMK at 2900 - generates allot o' gas.

Re: Suppressed 300WM

It's a great combo. My .300WM suppressed sounds no different from a .308 suppressed which is quite impressive.

Can this combination be fired safely without hearing protection of any type? The combo being your rifle/can/ammo.

And yes I realize topography makes a difference, just asking your personal opinion.

Thanks!

I shoot a .338 Lapua Magnum and a 308 suppressed both without hearing protection. But most of the time ear pro is mandatory since a majority of people I shoot with don't have cans.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Rancid Coolaid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I've been shooting suppressed for many years, mostly 308 or 223-based rounds.