• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors Suppressor accuracy expectiations

mgd45

Private
Minuteman
Jul 7, 2008
Ga.
Guys, I have no experience with suppressors, so I'm hoping you might be able to answer a question. I just finished up another Sniper training class & one of my classmates was issued a rifle from his Dept. that was made by Iron Brigade Armory. It came with a Surefire Suppressor & the attachment to his barrel.

When he was asked by the class about how he liked shooting the suppressor on the gun, he balked and stated, "that suppressor is the biggest piece of shit & waste of money." He related that he can't hold a group with it any better than 2 inches at 100 yards, & it continually changes POI each time it's attached & it's not consistent or repeatable.

I watched him shoot during the class, & he can shoot very well. Consistently shot 1/4 to 3/4 inch groups all day long. So I don't think it's his lack of skill.....

I told him that he ought to contact Surefire....I would imagine that it should be better than that & they might replace it. Or is 2 inch groups acceptable with a suppressor....?

Re: Suppressor accuracy expectiations

No that isn't acceptable. My gun can shoot 1/4 MOA with the suppressor and with out. Harmonics may be a factor.

My TRG 22 and a Noveske barreled AR10 both shoot a mite better with a suppressor, AAC Cyclone and both are easy 1/2 MOA rifle's without. I'm with NP that is not acceptable.

Id question a few things.

1) His ammo, shooting a hot round (assuming its a handload) or custom load with the addition of a can.... it can really throw your accuracy off.

2) is the muzzle device installed correctly? is it in line with the bore?