• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors Suppressor Design

BruxBarrels

Private
Minuteman
May 19, 2010
Lodi, WI
www.bruxbarrels.com
I'm new to the supressor world and I have a question about designing a suppressor. Probably a simple question but I'll ask anyways. Would the suppressor still work if the bullet doesn't actually travel through the baffles? Say you have a barrel with a muzzle brake on it, and then you slide the suppressor on over the barrel with the blast chamber at the front of the barrel over the muzzle brake, and with the baffles sliding over the barrel still allowing the gasses to expand. The monocore baffle/blast chamber would be approx. 10 inches long, on an AR15 barrel chambered in 300 AAC BLK. Just a thought I had going through my mind. Would that still be effective?

Thanks

Kyle Liebetrau
Brux Barrels

Re: Silencer Design

I have seen designs similar to that and wondered the same thing. Even when the brake takes up the first 30% of the suppressor you would think it would have a negative effect on the suppressor's performance. I hope you get an educated response to this.

I thing what your talking about is like a reflex style , where the expansion chamber extends back over the barrle adding minimal length.
It will work to an extent but is pretty uneffecient , the want as many baffles as possible to act against the gas "stripping" it off the bore into chambers slowing and cooling it as it goes even if the expansion chamber is realy big the gasses leaving the barrle will have ver little interaction with anything that obstructs the gas.