• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors Suppressor question

308zone

Private
Minuteman
Feb 13, 2009
Burnet,Texas
This is my first time going through the suppressor process and wanted to get a few thoughts on this. The deal is, I purchased a can first part of this last January and the dealer sent off the form 4 for me. Everything I have read says I should be able to get my serial number from the dealer in order to call and check up on the status. However, the class 3 dealer told me that he does not have the serial number to give me and that “it does not work that way.” He further explained that some “secretary somewhere” with ATF has my serial number and that he could not give it to me. He then told me not to expect my stamp to come in until a year has gone by. He did tell me it would take about 6 months to get the stamp when I paid for the can back in January. That I have no problem believing.

I know that a serial number is required on the form 4 before it is sent off and I have not read anywhere that would make me believe it should take a year. Something just is not passing the sniff test but I could be wrong. Not sure about this one either but he should have the can at his shop by now.......right? He also did not give me a copy of the form 4 on the date of sale.

Should I be worried or is this common? Hope this don’t sound like the usual whining.

Re: Suppressor question

Did he order the suppressor from some where else or did he have it in his shop?

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: 308zone</div><div class="ubbcode-body">