• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Suppressors Suppressor/velocity effect

lordt313

Private
Minuteman
May 27, 2007
Louisville. KY
I have no experience with a suppressor, so here goes: Does a suppressor reduce the velocity and/or accuracy of a rifle? I am considering this for a .308 with a 24in barrel.

Thanks
Taylor Lee

Re: Suppressor/velocity effect

I have noticed no difference in velocity with my rifle and suppressor (AAC Cyclone K) but the accuracy has improved maybe a .1" or so on average.

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: long-shot</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have noticed no difference in velocity with my rifle and suppressor (AAC Cyclone K) but the accuracy has improved maybe a .1" or so on average. </div></div>

I've seen this as well. With 22LR ammo I see a marked increase in accuracy for horizontal grouping (1/4" improvement with some ammo). Vertical stringing doesn't particularly change.

The larger bore stuff in a can improves as well but I can't put a number down like the 22's did.

My AWC gives a boost of about 70fps...info below taken from another site :

Best put by surefire: "A suppressor increases the bullet's velocity, by about 30 to 50 fps, because the extra length of the can behaves somewhat like additional barrel length. While the gas seal behind the bullet is not bore-size tight, the hole in the suppressor is only a few thousandths over bullet diameter, allowing a bit more opportunity for the propellant gases to accelerate the projectile. By comparison, an extra 5" of rifled barrel might add 200 fps to 300 fps while 5" of can will only up the velocity about 30 to 50 fps."