• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Talk me out of getting a Forster Co-Ax, please!

dogmilk

Private
Minuteman
Jun 13, 2018
Hello,

I am fairly new to long range shooting (just under 2.5 years) and getting into hand loading now.

I have a group of friends who I shoot with, all have different skill levels, budgets, all have very different "philosophies" when it comes to buying equipment.

One friend has all of the finest equipment. Virtually no expense spared. He has been involved in shooting, reloading, long range longer than all of us, and is now getting into ELR. He's made all of the mistakes, fallen into the pits that a new shooter would, so he's been an invaluable resource not only for information, advice, but I also get to buy his old unwanted gear at a considerable discount, which is great! Another friend is the complete opposite. Extremely thrifty. To the point where he compromises his safety, wastes time, ammunition, consumables. Relies on others to borrow equipment (I don't think he's equipped to clean brass...) His standards for performance are not FPS, merely, "does the ammo go bang yes or no..."

I don't want to be like that second friend. I want to be somewhere in the middle. Blue light special friend has a Hornady LnL Classic kit... I don't want that. "No expense spared" friend has a Forster Co-Ax. It's glorious. The reviews I've watched make me want it, and want nothing else.