• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Teach me your ways

HKslave

Sergeant of the Hide
Minuteman
Apr 4, 2022
NC
I am new to the long range shooting game and at this moment in time i'd say that I am in the "introductory to long range" phase, as the longest distance I have available to shoot is roughly 400 yards right now. I'm just now learning how to use mrad calculations, do proper holdovers and elevation adjustments, and create DOPE. I bought my first few DMR intermediate to long range type rifles recently and I am mostly interested in learning the best ways to get the most out of my gear.

I am really not interested in the politics surrounding firearms, more just the love of sport. I began shooting in IDPA and sporting clay/ trap shoot competitions but I really want to start shooting more challenging matches like DMR and precision rifle competitions but also want to make sure I know my s**t before I show up and make a fool of myself.

If you'd be interested in learning about external ballistics, I strongly recommend getting a copy of "Applied Ballistics for Long Range Shooting" by Applied Ballistics from Bryan Litz. Its an easy to understand read put in layman's terms for us non-astrophysicists. I've learned a great deal of external ballistics by reading that book. Well worth the money and your time! :)(y)

Let me get this straight... You are not interested in politics and you don't want to make a fool of yourself ?
You should fit in well.

Welcome ;)

What are you shooting? 400 yds really limits you. NE Colorado.