• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Techniques for Improving Precision

RCBorries

Private
Minuteman
Jan 8, 2020
Before I get into this, please excuse me if this information has already been discussed and readily available on this forum but being I am fairly new to precision shooting I am not sure how to go about finding this degree of technical information. I have a 400 yard range at my house and have never joined or even been to a shooting range. So other than scouring the internet and reading Ryan Cleckner's Long Range Shooting Handbook, all of my experience in precision shooting has been through self taught trial and error. Being I have never had the luxury of a hands on instructor, I would think this "self taught" process has had some negative effects on me by potentially creating some bad habits in my shooting techniques. I would be willing to bet if were to spend a little time on the range with a more experienced precision shooter most of the issues I feel I am having could be cleared up with some helpful tips. I do plan on joining a local range but with this COVID-19 stuff going on right now that has obviously been delayed. That said, I am hoping you guys might be able to help me out for the time being with some tips that will improve my groups and overall precision.

Ok, so I am able to hold 1/2 to 3/4 MOA groups at 300 and 400 yards on about 50%-75% of my 5 shot groups. Being I know the rifle is capable of sub MOA I would like to improve my group consistency to where i am shooting sub MOA 90%-100% of the time.