• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Fieldcraft Tent Hammock

NMMX

Private
Minuteman
Jan 3, 2012
ABQ, NM
Anyone use one? I'm refining my gear list to do some more extensive camping/climbing next spring. I have never used one before but they seem like a possibly nice lite weight system for 2-3 night trips.

Would really just like something smaller than a sleeping mat and lighter than a average tent.

Any thoughts?

Re: Tent Hammock

I have one and I like it. Only downfall is having to find trees/tie offs at the right distance. Definitely need to tie it off tight as possible, so there is as little slack/sag as possible. I would also recommend getting one with the bug net.

Yeah I was thinking that they just wouldn't work in some locals.

antelope%20camp.jpg

I have a Henessy and like it. Beats sleeping on the ground any day of the week. In a pinch, you can use them as a tent if there are not enough trees/tethering points.

4 descender rings can be used to make set up and take down pretty fast.

I got a Hennessy last month and spent a weekend in it. It was pretty comfortable but a bit chilly (overnight lows were in the upper 50s or low 60s that weekend). I had a Thermarest in it and used the lighter weight bag of the military sleep system.

I have a Clark Jungle Hammock and like it a lot. Excellent three season shelter. I use a thin foam pad when the temps drop below about 40 degrees.

I've been using a Henessy this year and I like it. Nice and light, and with the snake skins easy to deploy and stow. I've slept near the top of a mountain in a huge thunderstorm and stayed completely dry.

I sewed up some longer tree loops though, using them by themselves or in combination with the supplied loops means I can use bigger trees to hitch to.