• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

The .260.

6.81star

Sergeant
Minuteman
Nov 26, 2008
Nebraska
I am having a .260 built.
Heres the specs:
Trued Rem 700 SA
Bartlien heavy varmit 8.5twist with a length of 22 ins.
My smith asked me for a dummy round. I want to run a dbm so I think I am limited to the overall length of case, but not for sure. From what I understand the 140,139,142 bullets will perform best. Is that what I want to set my chamber up with according to the twist? So what should my overlength be, go easy I am new to reloading. New rifle, new reloading gear gonna be lots of learning.

Re: The .260.

If you haven't picked a bullet you want to shoot, then the dummy round is somewhat of an issue. Especially with keeping them at or in the lands with mag-length.

The idea with the dummy rounds is that you load the bullets to mag lenth (2.860" IIRC) and the gunsmith will cut the chamber so that the leade (throat)is setup so that you can get the bullets to touch or slightly jam into the lands as you feed from the magazine.

You need to pick a bullet then, since the distance from the meplat (tip) to the bearing surface/ogive juntion (where it stops being curved nose to being straight and the rifling contacts the bullet) is different for each one of the bullets you meantioned above.

If you're not sure which one you want to use. I'd suggest then that you pick the shortest ogive of the 3 and use that to have the chamber cut. This way you can load the longer ones slightly deeper into the case to accomodate for the short throat.

The 260 will burn the throat out to allow you to seat longer and longer as the barrel wears, and with most 6.5mm's it will do it much faster than the 30 caliber it's based upon.