• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

the 7mm Practical???

Take a look at the 7 Rogue designed by Travis Redill of RBros Rifles.
I am getting 3100 FPS with the 180 Bergers in a 26" barrel.Very similar to the Practical or Mashburn, but a little more performance I believe.
As far as I am concerned, a 7 mm based on the 300 WM case is about ideal for performance/ barrel life expectations.

Raptor, although I am a novice reloader. I am seriously considering choosing this caliber for the build I'm doing in May. Obviously with help from my gunsmith. LoL. I'm actually quite excited about this.
Also, blue jazz, given that I am a novice reloader, and I mean very novice. Would you think its too much for me to load for a 7mm Practical.

Last edited:
Raptor, although I am a novice reloader. I am seriously considering choosing this caliber for the build I'm doing in May. Obviously with help from my gunsmith. LoL. I'm actually quite excited about this.
Also, blue jazz, given that I am a novice reloader, and I mean very novice. Would you think its too much for me to load for a 7mm Practical.
I think you will have no trouble loading for a 7 Practical, or any other caliber. Reloading is very easy and rewarding. I only shoot my own ammo, and never did shoot factory.
Get yourself the 180's and Retumbo or H1000.
I use 73gr of H1000, but don't start there.

Last edited:
I'm also very new to reloading. 1.5 Years or so. Loaded most common calipers. I was planning on going with a 260 but the 7 practical has me reading up. The goal was to use my rem 700 308 action originally but not so sure now with this 7mm stuff.

The 308 is great but wouldn't mind a little more performance and efficient while keeping cost per round reasonable.