• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

The Truth and Nothing but the Truth

JAS-SH

Gunny Sergeant
Minuteman
Jun 5, 2020
I'm not only a photographer, I'm an analyst by profession. I gravitate to hard core analysis when I shoot, even keeping a log of every shot and where it went. Anal is the prefix to analyst so sue me! After reading a a very recent and pretty comprehensive article over at PRB on statistical analysis as it concerns rifle shooting I downloaded the free trial for the OnTarget TDS software today. I really recommend this PRB 3 part series. It is chock full of good information. I also recommend that if you're going to read more than one of the three parts nonstop to get a pot of coffee going! There are a lot of quotes included in there from some of the foremost experts on this subject, including Brian Litz, and so I highly recommend the series.

Putting the PRB three part articles and the OnTarget software together was an eye opener. Luckily, I had saved some of my targets from previous shoots so that I was able to use them for testing and analysis. Having saved some of the targets I've shot with my .22 Magnum trainer I was able to put together a picture that matches the articles to a tee. Makes me a believer, at least until I get additional data but that's not likely to contradict the results.

Here are the link to the first PRB article post. You can find the rest on the follow up links:

https://precisionrifleblog.com/2020/11/29/statistics-for-shooters/