• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

The Ultimate Action?

Kotes19

Private
Minuteman
Jan 1, 2023
United States
Didn’t see any threads too similar to this so I’ll ask away

I am planning out one of my dream gun builds and have come across a harder than expected decision; choosing an action.

I’ve heard great things about many action manufacturers, but the three that sounded the best to me were Defiance, Lone Star, and Impact Precision.

I plan to use this gun in a larger caliber, either .338 Lapua, .300 Rum, or one of the Normas.

It won’t see much mud or debris

It’ll be a long range rifle

Money is no factor. I want it to be as accurate as it can, even if I pay a premium

I plan to use Bartlein barrels

I have very little hands on experience with these actions nor will I be building this rifle anytime soon, so any advice, help, or pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Terminus Zeus for the win. Defiance, Impact, and the Kelbly BBT were my top three until I saw Terminus Zeus has a Quick Change or Tenon barrel interface, three lug bolt, threaded trigger pins, a thicker integrated recoil lug than many other actions, Stainless receiver with DLC coating, too. 20 MOA integrated rail, and cut for AICS & AW mags. Plus Joel is a great guy and the CS rocks.

Last edited:
Eric Cortina seams to know what it takes to win. Here’s a closeup of his action taken from his latest YouTube speed test video. He’s running a Borden. I’m not an expert but BAT or Borden seam to be solid choices.
D0EB3E46-8E41-4663-9F6E-9CE37689C1C8.jpeg

Reactions: Kotes19