• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Night Vision Thermal and night vision...am I on the correct path?

BlkSC

Private
Minuteman
Apr 14, 2024
Kansas
Hello, all, long time lurker, first time poster. I started a deep dive into night vision with the intent of buying binos but, after a lot of reading, I'm leaning more towards helmet mounted night vision and thermal. I have zero experience with night vision and the only experience I have with thermal is using the Flir thermal camera at work to look for hot spots in electrical equipment.

The purpose...I wouldn't say I have an explicit purpose at this moment. I'm working on getting a place where I can shoot at night so it's a skill that I'd like to start working on.

My budget is somewhat flexible, $15k-$20k, and I'm looking for a good compromise of "Buy once, cry once" and "Bang for the buck". After all my reading, I think the best solution is an un-filmed white phosphor L3Harris PVS-14 and a NOX 18 thermal. I know of a used NOX 35 for sale for a good price but, from my research, I don't think it will work as well helmet mounted with a PVS-14.

I haven't done research on helmets or IR lasers yet, that is next on my list after I nail the night vision and thermal down.

So what do you guys think? Is this a good option to get started?

Reactions: LawTalker
Hello, all, long time lurker, first time poster. I started a deep dive into night vision with the intent of buying binos but, after a lot of reading, I'm leaning more towards helmet mounted night vision and thermal. I have zero experience with night vision and the only experience I have with thermal is using the Flir thermal camera at work to look for hot spots in electrical equipment.