• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

F T/R Competition Thinking of a new shooting mat

Denys

Turbulent Optics Student
Minuteman
  • Mar 26, 2012
    Texas
    I have been using the same mat for close to 10 years now and I'm thinking I would like something newer.

My current mat is fabric (thin) with some rubber inserts towards the front. It measures about 28 inches by 60 some inches.

I have been using a hi-tech rubber welcome mat that I bought at Home Depot about 5 years ago on which I put the bipod down. My routine is to lay down the rubber mat first positioning it properly and then I put down my mat relative to it.

My shooting mat is almost straight down relative to the trajectory as I shooting lying down along my rifle with my legs straight back, none of this Hasbro GI Joe plastic rifleman Y-position for this old guy.

I'm quite tall at 5' 16'' inches and would like to find a mat that would be long also. I'd love something 72 inches or longer. I also would like something wider , 36 inches or more so that my right elbow is not dragging in the dirt/mud/fireant pile/etc. I do use elbow pads to help with that, but.

I think I also want it a little thicker than my current one as I have shot at places where the ground had surprises on it that my ribs or other portion of my anatomy would discover.

Lastly, the rubber patches are not required, in fact, the less of those the better; in Texas they get really hot in the Sun.

I have searched at all the usual places and have come up with nothing really worthwhile so far. Any thoughts?

Re: Thinking of a new shooting mat

I've been happy with the Midway Pro something mat.
    It's plenty big enough and on sale right now for $49.99.