• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Thoughts on IMR-3031

MrMike

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 26, 2009
Port Clyde, Maine
I'm new to reloading so please excuse the stupid questions. I have a remington 700 sps tactical and I am looking at using Sierra 168gr Match king HPBTs. Most of my shooting will be around 3 or 400 yards (wish I had more room).

I was wondering what your thoughts were on IMR-3031. I'm sure in time I'll end up trying different powders but this particular one was recommended to me by a friend who shoots match. Its what he uses.

I would just like some thoughts on this powder, or others that you all use and what attracts you to that particular powder.

thanks
Mike

Re: Thoughts on IMR-3031

IMR4895 and IMR4064 seem to work better with the 168 gr. than IMR 3031. IMR4064 worked best for me and I also found Nosler CC to be better than Sierra MK.

3031 is a bit fast for optimal 168gr, but these days with almost everything is hard to get, you could use it but you won't be getting top velocities. Work up slowly and cautiously since it can build pressure fast.

As other stated, some slower powders: 4895, Varget, 4064, R15 are better powders. Currently rather difficult to find in stock.

Thanks for the info guys. I have been struggleing with a powder that will run my 308 and 223, there are a couple that cross over. In the 308 I am of course looking for the best results, the 223 not so much.

According to Sierra I can use both the 4064 and 4895 for the 223 and 308.