• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Threaded barrel (thread protector) help.

zxGrizz

Private
Minuteman
Oct 25, 2021
South Carolina
Hello snipers

Introduction/background:

I'm pretty new to all this. Always had a interest in long range precision shooting I've just never made the leap and put the money into it. I'm really into bow hunting and know all to well constancy is accuracy, that small errors become bigger and bigger the further away you shoot. I have and have owned many guns but mainly average hunting rifles.($200-$600 range moa rifles with 3lbs+ triggers and sportster barrels)

I've made the leap and purchased a savage 10 6.5 creedmoor the previous owner had the barrel cut from 24" to 18" threaded and was kind enough to send me a flash hider to protect the threads. Problem is I have to take the FH off everytime I shoot because it decreases accuracy. My guess is it's not indexed( I don't have shims or a crush washer). I've only fired 20 rounds of ELD-m 140grain total so I don't have much info to share but here is my first 4 round group after firing only 6 shots before hand at 100yard. 3 rounds to check point of impact 3 rounds to confirm zero then this group.
IMG_20211118_143059_01.jpg

That's without the FH shooting off a crappy walmart sand bag and my jacket lol but I'm fairly certain the gun will shoot even tighter of it wasn't for me. I'm not used to this 1.5lbs trigger at all but I love it haha.

Anyways if I snug the FH on the point of impact changes and I get a looser group/"gathering 😅". Instead of buying a new FH or shims/crush washer to improve it I'd just rather have a simple thread protector.