• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Tightest sizing 6.5cm dies?!

4O6shootist

F. J. B.
Supporter
Minuteman
Sep 5, 2021
USA
I have been using a set of redding type S FL bushing sizer/comp seater for the creed for last 3-4 years. Mainly for my 25cr shooting blackjacks @ 2850, very mild super accurate load. Had no issues. I recently started shooting a Christensen 6.5cm. I have gone through this rifle extensively, cleaned up the throat/freebore with a throater, and the chamber with a reamer as it was a lil snug. Switched to new alpha ocd brass and all is good. I measured the old brass which has 3 firings on it. The base of a fired case is 0.4724, sized is 0.4718. I also shoot 22 creed using rcbs matchmaster dies. Sized cases measure 0.4697. And this 22 brass has been run HOT for 4 reloads. I can feel the difference completely, the Redding just sizes everything butter smooth, the rcbs is doing work as it's much firmer when running the press.
What's the best die for tightest base sizing? I cannot find any 6.5cm matchmaster dies in stock anywhere.

Last edited:
If the brass is fitting in your guns chamber nicely why would you care to size it down further? With that question out of the way my Forster die is probably the smallest/tightest and my Whidden die seems to fit my guns chamber the best. The Redding die is loose/loose. worked on my factory chamber but not on anything of better quality.

If the brass is fitting in your guns chamber nicely why would you care to size it down further? With that question out of the way my Forster die is probably the smallest/tightest and my Whidden die seems to fit my guns chamber the best. The Redding die is loose/loose. worked on my factory chamber but not on anything of better quality.