• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Tikka durability question

CST

Sergeant
Minuteman
Dec 31, 2002
Md
I'm new to Tikka and was thinking about starting a new project. I plan on a cadex or MDT chassis at some point . But All I've ever known was Remington 700s.

As a military sniper rifle or a field gun that takes a beating...how reliable is the recoil lug system in the Tikka action? You got after market companies putting in integrated recoil lugs or thicker lugs in the 700clones... I've accidentally "dropped tested" my ga precision M40a3 many times before with no loss of zero.

I haven't seen any complaints on the Tikka but I have to ask before I dive in
Thanks

The recoil lug is not where the weak point is on a Tikka.

The bolt handle breaking off because of a failure at the dovetail in the bolt body is one potential concern.

Another is a failure of the bolt stop pin.

Reactions: supercorndogs
I’ve never seen or heard of a steel one failing but it’s not a very substantial lug to say the least nor is the engagement area in the action. I doubt it would pass mil drop tests, but that’s also not what it was designed for. It’s a consumer grade rifle that’s meant for recreational use. If you want a hard use rifle that can take abuse buy an AI.

As mentioned the bolt handles and bolt stop pin are much more common failures. Another is the ejector springs tend to wear pretty quick. 1000 rounds is usually about the most you’ll get out of one before it’s not ejecting cases.