• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Tikka T1x Tuner

NotMOA

Private
Minuteman
Jul 22, 2022
Vermont
I have been shooting a Tikka T1x since the beginning of July. I tested 5 different lots of Eley Tenex and a couple of different lots of Eley Match. I found a particular lot of Tenex that shot pretty good. Out of 10, 5 round groups I have shot at 100 yards I averaged .75 inches. Only two of those groups have exceeded an inch and not by much. At 50 yards the last 6x5 I did averaged .364 inches. The best 5 shot group in that 6x5 was .287 inches and all of those groups were below .5 inches. I am pretty satisfied with those numbers.

However, I started shooting the IBS 50 Yard rimfire target in August. The internet says that the IBS target is too easy and everyone shoots 250's all the time. The IBS target has a .5 inch 10 ring. Given my 50 yard group sizes I should be able to score a 250 easily but I can't. With Tenex, I have shot as high as 248 with 6 X's but my average is 241 over 7 targets. I shoot off a bipod with a rear bag and a 36 power sightron scope. I am using the original stock and my Tikka has the 20 inch barrel. I generally don't shoot when it is windy but I just ordered some wind flags to help me out. I also ordered a few different lot numbers of Tenex to see if I can get something better than what I have.

I feel like I am shooting better than the gun at this point. Not that I don't make mistakes because I do and I sometimes find myself being inconsistent with how I hold the rifle but I feel like 250 is within my capabilities. I also know that some of my bad shots are not going where the scope is pointing when the trigger breaks.