• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Tikka T3x: CTR vs AICS magazines

CTR or AICS magazines

• Total voters

awcmon

Private
Minuteman
Nov 29, 2018
A new KRG Bravo for the Tikka T3x that accepts CTR magazines came out and I am a bit torn over which to get as I am not invested into either (I only have a single CTR mag that came with my CTR). This does seem to be a fairly controversial topic from what I've seen, so I'm curious on the exact proportion of people who prefer which and why.

From what I can tell

CTR Pros:
-Shorter due to being double stack
-2.950" COAL
-Allegedly smoother and easier to load? I have no experience with AICS magazines so I cannot say, but this is what I have read from some people here.

CTR Cons:
-Possible feeding problems?
-Loose fitment in magwell?

I have not really experienced these cons personally, but some people here seem to have.

AICS Pros:
-More "universal" than the CTR pattern (many different manufacturers such as MDT, ARC, etc; can use mags across different guns; can borrow mags from others easier)
-Reliability issues less common?

AICS Cons:
-Longer due to most AICS magazines being single stack
-2.880" COAL w/o modification? Apparently the binder plate can be removed or something?
-Magpul and possibly other polymer AICS magazines will not fit without modification.

This is largely what I have collected so far. Feel free to add/correct/verify.