• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Tips For Getting Rounds on Target With A New Rifle / Shooter

Airik Farley

Private
Minuteman
Mar 27, 2024
US
I am new to the long-range game and planning to return to the range today. So far, I've been unable to zero my rifle due to two things: 1) My rounds aren't striking paper at 100 yards, and 2) I can't see where my rounds are striking to adjust my initial point of aim to get on paper. I think part of my issue may be that when I fire, the reticle jumps off target, and even though I continue looking down the scope through the shot, all I see is a flash of black (my head position shifts, and I lose eye relief for a fraction of a second) then my reticle will settle about 1-2 feet left of the initial point of aim. That all makes it impossible to see where the round strikes.

I have some ideas for what to work on today, but as a total newbie, I'm guessing about what corrections to make. I'd like feedback on whether I'm on the right path or if there's something else I should try. FYI, I do not have a spotter available.

Today's range agenda:

Before I start firing:
  • Do more dryfire practice; I didn't see the reticle moving during previous dryfire sessions, but more practice can't hurt.
  • Remove the bolt and look down the barrel to narrow down the impact point.
  • Use my laser boresight to further narrow down the point of impact.
While firing:
  • Ensure my NPA is on target. <-- I suspect this may be the major factor.
  • Ensure my body is aligned behind the rifle. (I have done this previously)
  • Ensure the rifle is level (I have done this previously)
  • Load the bipod (I tried to do this but did it incorrectly)