• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Prophet1776

Private
Minuteman
Jan 31, 2023
Elizabeth City NC
Bought a zermatt action that had a carbon prefit 308 barrel on it. Went to the range MV was decent for a 16” barrel but the grouping was trash. I was also having issues with lite strikes on AB39 and my A tips. Put my foster go gauge in that went smooth. Put the “no go” gauge in and that closed smoothly as well. I used my Zermatt action wrench to pull the barrel off and reinstalled it to 70 foot lbs. checked the head space again and it closed smoothly on the no go gauge? I took the extractor off the bolt to seat the gauges. It does not close on the field gauge. I’m not new to PRS but I am new to building my rifles and to reloading. Would this cause the accuracy And lite strike issues? If so how can I fix this? Any help is appreciated.

Last edited:
It sure could cause light strikes...... you could measure a fired case against the no go gauge to see how much out of spec it is..... its good it won't close in a field gauge so it's not likely to rupture a case but it will stretch the brass a bit more than it should.

Don't know if this is factory or reloads from a previous barrel but once the brass is fire formed the light strikes should go away....

Post up your measurement, I think a filled gauge is usually quite a bit longer than the no go.

Origin/TL3 mismatch?
I would hope not.

Bolt wouldn’t close with a TL3 and an origin barrel.

Origin with a TL3 barrel and standard recoil lug would be .230 bolt face to barrel face instead of .130 and should be fairly obvious.

Reactions: giumau1