• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

• Site updates coming next Wednesday at 8am CT!

The site will be down for routine maintenance on Wednesday 6/5 starting at 8am CT. If you have any questions, please PM alexj-12!

Too much lube?

Shakeber

Sergeant
Minuteman
Jan 10, 2011
Long time reader, first post. Hello all, great site and info.
I am new to reloading and have read alot on the subject. I will be reloading for a Rem 700 5r in 308 and for a Weatherby sub-moa in 243.
Question: When FL resizing (using RCBS dies and rochchucker) I lubed the cases with Hornady Unique case lube by putting a small amount of lube and rubbing my hands together ( I was told that a little went a long way!) and rolling 5-6 cases in my hands. When I resized them some of them had dimples at the shoulders slightly. You have to look for the dimples to see them. Have I ruined the cases?. Will the dimples affect the accuracy of the rounds. Your responses are definetly welcomed. Thanks in advance.

Re: Too much lube?

The cases with dimples will fire just fine. The dimples will disappear after firing. On the next group either keep the lube off the shoulders or wipe the shoulders off before you cycle them through the sizing die. Either way it was too much lube on the shoulders that causes that.

I does sound like an inconsistent application of lube. If the dimples are small it shouldn't have any real impact on the cartridge. Once you fire it the dimple will be swelled back out by the internal pressure. You can reload as usual with it afterwards. Just make sure you inspect the brass before reloading again.