• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Torque Wrench Shootout: Reviews + Tests

FourT6and2

Sergeant
Minuteman
Feb 13, 2017
As I mentioned in this thread: https://www.snipershide.com/shooting/threads/torque-wrench-reviews.7136523/ , the torque wrench I’ve been using for the past seven years was stolen. Since I needed to replace it, I decided to grab a few different options and test them to see which one I liked the most and to satisfy my curiosity regarding how these things actually perform. Not one to blindly trust marketing claims, I decided to give it a shot.

This isn’t meant as an end-all-be-all about quality and performance. Some of it is personal opinion and some of it is objective data, albeit with a sample size of one. So use this info as you please. Also as many will surely point out, we aren't building nuclear reactors here. I don't think we really need aerospace levels of accuracy and precision when it comes to torquing actions or scope rings.

I’m also not a statistician. I did my best to double check my math.

I'm using a calibrated HIOS HP100 torque tester. I also have a Seekonk TA-75 dial tester as backup. The HIOS displays torque to the 1/10th in/lb and is accurate to 0.1%. I have a direct attachment, as well as a rundown fixture that simulates torquing a fastener.

I will update this thread as I test each product, but here’s the current lineup:
  • Borka PTL: 4; 8 in/lb pre-set
  • Borka BTD
  • Fix It Sticks: 15 in/lb Pre-Set
  • Fix It Sticks: 55 in/lb Pre-Set
  • Fix It Sticks: All-In-One
  • Lyman ProDrive 10-80 in/lb
  • Wiha TorqueVario-S 10-50 in/lb
  • Wiha TorqueVario-S 5-18 in/lb
  • Wiha TorqueVario-S 18-62 in/lb
  • Tekton TRQ21101 10-150 in/lb
  • Mountz FGA-80 8-80 in/lb

Last edited: