• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Night Vision Trail XQ50 LRF Expectations?

Ksracer

Private
Minuteman
Feb 14, 2017
I'm brand new to thermals and am having some issues with the Pulsar I bought new last week and put on my .223 bolt rifle.
I'm happy with the image it provides, but the first problem I noticed is that it won't detect shots being fired and trigger the auto record feature. I called the service center and they said I could send it in, but if they found a problem, it could be several weeks before they could get it replaced. The screen has also frozen a few times after it did it its auto recalibrate thing. I either had to shut it off, or switch it to manual to get it back

The more serious problem occurred when I zero'd it in one evening, and then missed multiple easy shots the first time I took it out at night. I re-checked the zero that night and it had shifted over 3" high @100yds. Temps were 40-60 degrees both times. The rifle never had a zero problem with any of the other day scopes I've had on it, and it has always consistently shot groups under 1/2". The techs response to that was to remount it using all 4 screws, instead of the 3 that the directions told me to use to obtain the eye releif I needed. It seems to be mounted solidly, and I'm having a hard time believing I had a mechanical shift that could account for that large of movement.

Now for my question. I realize there are far more expensive scopes out there. Is this just the nature of mid-priced thermals, or should I realistically expect better?