• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Training Rifle for Sako TRG-42 338

PotatoeTactical

Private
Minuteman
Feb 20, 2024
Southern Idaho
Hi all,

New to the forum but been a long time lurker over the years. I am about to acquire my childhood rifle, a Sako TRG 42 (2013) 338 Lapua at a local shop in a few weeks and I am looking for a good training rifle to go with it. Searched for training rifles for 338 and could not find anything that answered my question.

I do have a ZevTech LFAR that I put together as “the M110 we have at home”, but I am totally new to longer ranges (1km plus).
Would a Tikka in .223 serve me better or would the Zev Tech .308 (1:10 twist, 20” Bartlein, 175gr SMK, .48moa) be a more cost-accessible way to train longer ranges without the 7/shot price tag?

Any other recommendations for a cartridge that shares similar wind/drop to the 338 Lapua that is more accessible?

Thank you,
PT

This would give you the ergonomics of the TRG, pick your cartridge.
Really, it depends on the distance and your typical atmoshperic conditions on whether to tun .223 or .308.
For example, where I live, 15 MPH winds are almost a daily occurrence and my range is 90 degrees from the prevailing winds, so shooting a .223 sucked.
I would still primarily choose either the .223 or .308 for the long barrel life, though a handloaded 6.5 swede is hard to beat.

Reactions: PotatoeTactical
This would give you the ergonomics of the TRG, pick your cartridge.
Really, it depends on the distance and your typical atmoshperic conditions on whether to tun .223 or .308.
For example, where I live, 15 MPH winds are almost a daily occurrence and my range is 90 degrees from the prevailing winds, so shooting a .223 sucked.