• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Tripod setup for actual LEO sniper use.

Shooter606

Private
Minuteman
Oct 7, 2008
East Tennessee
So I have been issued my 700 police and leupold spotting scope and a 1980’s Walmart tripod....So I’m getting my kit together on a cops budget. With that said the RRS gear is out of budget! I’m looking at the HOG saddle and the shadow tech pig tripod thinking a direct mount (hog to tripod) might work. I’m trying to stay as light as possible so here is the question, should I go direct mount or leveling base/ ball head? Also is the manfroto pistol grip head and viable option these days? I have zero experience with tripods and I can’t afford to buy something that will not last. All advise and donations will be accepted lol

Screenshot_20180826-190913_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20180826-190809_Chrome.jpg

And this is worth reading.
Screenshot_20180826-190240_Chrome.jpg

Most shooters new to tripod shooting prefer the use of a ball head. The direct mount method is a little more stable but takes some practice.
I would recommend the GNN FB-52 ball head over the Manfrotto grip action head. The GNN FB-52 has a higher 44lbs load rating, pans smoother and uses arca-swiss attachments.
The federal HRT guys are currently running the PIG Saddle, GNN FB-52 ball head, and PIG0311-G field tripod with very effective results.
(the PIG Saddle direct mount to the PIG0311-G tripod is the best bang for the buck)
Hit me up with any questions or about our government sales program.