• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Tripod shooting expectations

atepointer

Old Salt
Minuteman
  • Nov 20, 2018
    I've got some great local knowledge on what to buy and get set up thankfully as several friends have tripods, ball heads and arca rails for optics, but currently no one shooting on them. A recurrence of lumbar issues from surgery in '88 have come back into my life. Bulging discs and spinal stenosis.....good fun lemmie tell ya. No prone and sitting kills me. Standing is my relief position. So.....into the tripod setup we go.

I realize so much of this is dependent on equipment and stabilizing yourself, but is it unreasonable to think as I spend time and work on these new positional skills that I can maintain the same level of accuracy on the tripod at some point down the road? This move to the tripod is not a want, but a need if I want to keep shooting. I still may not get out of this w/o surgery, but regardless I have to look into other positional options moving forward.

Would love to hear from anyone regarding their carry over/not of quality of shot groups after making the change. I know I have a mountain of learning to do as I dip my toes into this so fire away please.

Last edited: