• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Trouble with sizing

DocRDS

Head Maffs Monkey
Minuteman
Feb 21, 2012
The Great Beyond
Setting up my sizing die (FL) to bump shoulder 0.002.

Get it all set. Measure. Lock Down. Check it. All is well.
10 rounds later its moved to 0.005 (measure). Ugh
Reset to 0.002. Measure. Lockdown. Check it.
15 rounds later 0.005.

DAMMIT SO MUCH

It doesn't appear the die is moving, the orientation is still the same, but i keep getting the 'growth' of shoulder bump. I am by no means a reloading expert, but I am triple sure I tightened everything down, and the fact that it keeps repeating is driving me nuts. I'm OCD so I know for damn sure that orientation was stuck. I checked 2-3 after lockdown 0.002....then run a bunch, then spot check....getting 0.005.

Hornady dies. 6.5 Manbun. Starline Brass (LRP). Any advice would be appreciated.

Cheap calipers and Hornady case comparator I’m guessing? Are all your cases equal headspace presizing?

I don’t have a great answer for you, but floating the sizing die off the shellholder is an inherently inconsistent method. You can probably keep at it and get it to “settle in” eventually, but the best method is Redding competition shellholders, and the next best way is using shim stock between the shellholder and the sizing die. Either of those will yield more consistent results, with less tinkering.

Good luck to ya

I do get consistent pre-readings (last night was at '25' on the dial start every time) and use a quality mitsoyo (its 1950s era), but it is hornady comparator. Also a Lee Single Stage and Hornady locking ring.

I watched video after video and they all make it seem so easy, I am constantly battling it.