• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Gunsmithing Truing an Action - a few questions

ncoutdoorsman

Sergeant
Minuteman
Aug 3, 2008
Wilmington, NC
Hi Guys,

As always, a big thank you for helping me further my education in precision shooting. Still being a newbie, I wanted to ask about what exactly is involved with "truing an action"? Does it mean working with the threads of the barrel to archive finer headspace?

And, do new rifles, straight from the factory need such work or are they already trued?

I suppose what I'm asking is, what gunsmithing can you do to a new rifle to increase accuracy before ever taking it to the range?

Re: Truing an Action - a few questions

Truing an action will be different from one smith to another. 've seen some that considered it trued if the face of the action had been faced off. On the other hand I don't consider it to be trued unless the threads have been recut paralell to the centerline, the lug seats, and face of the front ring cut perpendicular to the centerline, and the bolt lugs and face cut perpendicular to the centerline.

Factory rifles have ont had any of this done. It's kind of hit and miss what you will get from the factory. I've had some that I had to remove a maximum of .002 from each of these points, and I've had a couple at the other end where the lugs had to have .025 removed just to get them contacting evenly. Most of the aftermarket actions however have had much better care taken in machineing and are good to go from the start.

The one thing I would do prior to taking it to the range besides completely cleaning everything out and and relubing with the stuff I'm going to use is to bed the rifle. Depending on the rifle bedding may or may not improve accuracy, but I've never seen it hurt.