• Watch Out for Scammers!

We've now added a color code for all accounts. Orange accounts are new members, Blue are full members, and Green are Supporters. If you get a message about a sale from an orange account, make sure you pay attention before sending any money!

Trying to balance fuel economy and getting around in deeper snow with vehicle purchase

DIBBS

Old Mountain Man-Tired occasionally Grumpy SOB
Supporter
Minuteman
  • Aug 21, 2008
    WARSHington State
    I've been driving a pickup truck for 30 years, a couple fords, and a couple Toyotas in that timeframe. I'm considering picking up something with relatively low miles, and am looking for your feedback on how your SUV's have done in deeper snow on low maintenance roads. I haven't really narrowed the field yet. First pick would be a Tacoma access cab, but the fuel mileage isn't that great and the seats on my 2003 Tacoma sucked. Also looking at the Subaru Outback, maybe Crosstrek too, and the Nissan Rogue(lose value quickly). The tundra I currently drive only gets 12-15 in the winter crawling around on the back roads .
    Since (*^_@! WA State has the highest fuel prices in the nation (FUCK the dipshit Dems) I'm looking for better economy and snow travel ability as well, in my retired winter hunting adventures.

Thanks in advance for your feedback/experiences.

Are there other models I should consider as well? Wife has a Rav, and I haven't been terribly impressed in the winter with deeper snow.

Check out the 4runner. The 5th gen been around for quiet a while, its reliable and handles off road very well. We bought one in October of last year and it handled a crap ton - (65 feet give or take) with stock suspension and stock tires like a champ. Albeit all the stock stuff is gone now....

Rumor has it a new body style with new motor design will be out next year, but who knows if thats true and after hearing horror stories of the new tundra, Id buy the tested gen 5 4R all over again.

Reactions: DIBBS